LTS: "Optimal" vs. "Optimized" Understanding "Optimization"

LTS: "Optimal" vs. "Optimized" Understanding "Optimization"

Webinar

Topic

At INFORM we make a clear distinction between the terms “optimal” and “optimized” both of which derive their meaning from mathematics, and mathematically speaking, the difference between the two is huge. One requires a proof that a better solution does not exist - not practical in a business sense - and the other improves to different degrees the bottom lines of business the world over. Join us as we explore the difference in these two terms and why it is important for us to be using them correctly when talking about optimization of business processes.

  1. 16:30-16:50 (CEST)

    Save this event

Details LTS: "Optimal" vs. "Optimized" Understanding "Optimization"

Content

­Logistics Tech Shorts - a series of 20-minute webinars on optimization technology in the building materials industry. Designed to stimulate and challenge your thinking on how technology impacts logistics in the modern age, Logistic Tech Shorts deliver a blend of big picture thinking with practical ideas you can apply today.

You'll Learn

In this Logistics Tech Short we’ll explore why it is important to use optimal and optimized correctly.

  1. “Optimal,” or the perfect solution, is a mathematically improbable outcome for logistics optimization.
  2. “Optimized,” on the other hand, provides a good solution in near real-time allowing for both improved and efficient operations.
  3. AI and Operations Research (OR) methods combined generate the strongest possible optimization outcomes for logistics providers.

Presenter

Rafael Velásquez holds a PhD in Mathematical Optimization from the Technical University of Kaiserslautern. He has worked in Optimization Projects over the last 14 years within the Research and IT sector. He joined INFORM in 2008 with a focus on promoting optimization solutions in the Container Terminal industry. Since 2012 he is leading the Port Optimization projects at INFORM’s Logistic Division.

Date & Registration

June 23, 2020

10:30 (New York), 15:30 (London), 16:30 (Berlin/Rome), 18:30 (Dubai)

Registration and participation is free, but spaces are limited. Please register as soon as possible to secure your place in this Logistics Tech Short. Please use the form below to register.

You can’t attend live? You should still register! We’ll be sending out the slide deck and recording after the webinar to all registrants.

Register for Webinar

Date and Place

Date:

...
Participant 1
Participant 2
Teilnehmer 3
Send
Data Protection*
Back to top